I downloaded the Twitter application to my iPhone two weeks ago. And I love it.

I love reading the short, pithy, wry and at times, funny and meaningless musings the people I follow have on news, sports, and politics. Short tweets are like pub banter that happens after the serious analysis is done and you just want to take the piss. This is not to say tweets aren’t informative, because they are and can be. Their real strength is that for time poor people (and who isn’t these days?) tweets can keep you informed and entertained even if you don’t have time to read or understand the whole story.

The moment when I decided I loved Twitter was on the afternoon when Australia learnt which party was to – finally – form a government. While one of the Kingmakers took an eternity to inform the nation of his decision, and in turn earning the wraith of those with short attention spans, Twitterers filled the void with some fun and ahh…venom.

To me it was like being involved in a conversation in real time with a group of friends as they fire off comments and throw away lines willy nilly. But having stupid comments on speed dial can be dangerous as this person found out. And others may not take kindly to your particular brand of humour as this person found out.

So I’m gonna enjoy it while I can because, just like Crocs, Twitter may be here one day and gone the next.